I can't tell the difference between boys and girls!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by cindy65, Sep 11, 2009.

1. cindy65

cindy65 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 10, 2009
    Tacoma Washington
    I am new to raising chickens and I have two flocks, one about 2 mos old and newly hatched chicks about one week old. We bought the older ones from a farm and were told most were girls but about half of them have been growing combs for about six weeks.
    Please help!

2. beak

beak On vacation

Dec 12, 2008
    Kiowa, Colorado
    Here I was going to offer some advice. It's a chicken thing. When they start crowing is the best indication. Until then you can tell by the size of their combs. Boys have larger combs than the girls and it gets red sooner. The girls have smaller combs and usually don't turn red till they start laying. How they tell at the hatchery is beyond me.

Last edited: Sep 11, 2009
  3. Dar

Dar Overrun With Chickens

Jul 31, 2008
    pics? thats makes it easier

4. cindy65

cindy65 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 10, 2009
    Tacoma Washington
    Remember me, I'm new...
    What's a pullet???
    What are saddle feathers???

5. muell112

muell112 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2009
    Bangor, ME
    A pullet is a hen (cockerel is a rooster) and the saddle feathers on a rooster will come off the back in a droop down into points. You can also start to look for spurs on their legs (they'll get bigger as the get older)

6. noitulover

noitulover Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2009
    Central Virginia
    try googling for definitions or rooster and hens or "cockerels" (a young rooster before maturation) and "pullets (a young hen before she starts laying)

also [​IMG]

the best way to learn stuff about chickens is to either google, check out other backyardchickens forum questions and their answers, or buy a book!