I caught the (insert any choice curse word you like) raccoon!

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Kelly G, Aug 4, 2011.

1. Kelly G

Kelly G It's like herding cats!

It killed 12 of my 15 chicks the other night. I have been raising chicks for three years now, and not had any loss of chicks due to predators....then this! I have 1" hardware cloth to keep the chicks safe...but the raccoon, appearantly, reached in and pulled the chicks through...piece by piece. It was a blood bath....and I was so angry!

We set up the trap last night, and I found her in the morning:

[​IMG]

I thought I'd want to kick this raccoon in the cage - really terrorize it like it did to my chicks...but instead I felt bad for her. She was so scared and vulnerable (like my chicks). We drove her about 5 miles away (across several highways).

Now I sit here...missing my chicks....and hoping the raccoon isn't too scared or hungry in an unfamiliar area. How can I be so conflicted about a pest that killed my chicks!

Here's the video of the release:

[​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 4, 2011
  2. Desert Rooster

Desert Rooster El Gallo Del Desierto

Sep 4, 2010
    Hesperia, Ca
    Sorry for your loss. I would have dispatched it if it killed that many.

Last edited: Aug 4, 2011
  3. NC29mom

NC29mom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2010
    Scotland Neck, NC
    5 miles? NOT FAR ENOUGH......hope she doesn't find her way back....

I'm not gonna be so kind with the foxes that have killed our chickens...............................DEAD is what they are gonna be...

4. Kelly G

Kelly G It's like herding cats!

I know...but we don't own a gun, and if it couldn't be quick & painless then it couldn't be done by us.

I sure hope she doesn't make it back. She won't go in that trap again...

5. pjknust

pjknust Chillin' With My Peeps

May 2, 2011
    Texas