I did a stupid. Feeling horrible...

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by desertchicken92, Mar 30, 2015.

1. desertchicken92

desertchicken92 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 4, 2014
    So I ignored guidelines and put my 3 5 week old pullets in with my flock of four,no wire cage, just boxes for them to hide with, multiple feed stations etc. The coop and run is big enough for tons of chickens even tho I had 4 so I thought it would work fine.I kept checking on them...It's my first time having chicks. Anyways my flock was fine with it for 4 days until my hens killed a chick. It was horrid. I feel guilty and sickened that my hens did this. I seperated the babies since. How do I go about feeling okay about this towards my hens?, I'm mad and disgusted at them and feeling guilt myself. I don't even want to see them. I know it's nature and I should have separated them but ugh... I'm sick to my stomach about it... poor chick.

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Everything is a learning experience.
    Don't be mad at them. They are chickens and did what chickens do. Once flock dynamics are established, outsiders are a threat to the health of the flock and won't be accepted.
    Always introduce like numbers and like sizes of birds. 5 weeks is way too young to introduce to full grown birds.

Last edited: Mar 30, 2015
    1 person likes this.
  3. justplainbatty

justplainbatty Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 30, 2007
    emmet MI
    Well, this is how you learn. The hens can easily off a chick that aggravates. The hen was just p o'd at the time. I bet you will never make that mistake again! Always wait until your chicks are almost as big as the adults to remove fences. See but no touch before that, is ok and good for all to get to know one another. Sorry you lost a chick. [​IMG]

4. desertchicken92

Jul 4, 2014