1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I didn't know ducks roosted...

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Kadjain, Dec 18, 2011.

1. Kadjain

Kadjain Chillin' With My Peeps

I tried to introduce this single Muscovy to my other ducks, 2 Khaki's, 1 Hybrid 300 and a Runner drake. I didn't want to introduce a single duck but I didn't want to pay for 2 cause he was asking too much. Anyway the duck decided to move into the chicken coop instead of the duck hut.
    I didn't know ducks would roost. Here is the Muscovy on a roost that is about 3+ ft high and I didn't place it there.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Obviously I'm still new to owning ducks. Is this common? Should I make a roosting area for the Khaki's and Runner. I figure if they wanted to roost they would've moved into the coop like the Musc.

2. kari_dawn

kari_dawn Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 2, 2009
    North Texas
    aw, how cute is that! I don't know anything about ducks, so forgive me if my ignorance is showing, but that is a funny picture! Do all ducks roost?

3. RAREROO

RAREROO Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2009
    Alapaha, Ga
    Quote:Nope, typical domestic mallard derived ducks dont fly, perch, or roost but its not uncommom for muscovies.

4. Kadjain

Yeah, the Musc. flies better compared to my Khaki's, Hybrid and Runner. I clipped one of her wings but she can still get up there. She's pretty cool [​IMG]

5. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    Muscovies do roost and fly very well. They are a different species of duck than the others you possess.

In the wild, muscovies are a migratory bird.

Last edited: Dec 18, 2011
  6. Kadjain

No wonder why she moved into the chicken coop then.

Coolness thanks!

7. ChickieBooBoo

ChickieBooBoo Cold Canadian Chick