I didn't want chickens, really.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by santim5665, Sep 14, 2016.

1. santim5665

santim5665 Just Hatched

Sep 14, 2016
    Hey from MI! I am new to anything chicken related. I didn't really want chickens. I didn't ask for chickens and I didn't go buy chickens. But here they are! The neighbor got a bunch of chickens and a rooster and once they let them out, they would not stay home. I tried running them off, scaring them off, walking em thru the woods back to their own house and they just kept coming back. I even told the neighbor if my dogs got loose they would likely get and demolish a chicken long before I could get to it...their response; yeah we know; we will just get more. UGH!! finally one chicken just refused to go home, no matter what happened or what I did, she would insist on living here. I now realize their living space was not safe and coyotes have gotten all of the chickens except for the 2 that I finally bought from the child because he couldn't catch them and if he did they would bite him (they still don't do this with me)...so they live here. lovely husband has built them a good safe shelter for at night and we are working at getting it entirely enclosed/fenced. I have grown to love them with their very individual quirky personalities and think it so funny when I need to lay down to rest during the day and get up to find one of the free ranging chickens sitting in my bedroom window (outside) and only gets up and leaves when I get up from my rest. I have done a bit of research, one is a buff orpington (this i am sure of) and other a kind of scrawny looking rhode island red maybe? I let them out during the day, they have a variety of food stuff i have bought for them, we give them lots of food scraps and seem to be happy healthy girls. We love animals here, really. we live in the country and have provided a home for multiple cats and dogs who are lost and abandoned, including the aforementioned neighbor's c