I don't think my Broody is getting off her nest???

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by jBlaze, Apr 28, 2009.

1. jBlaze

jBlaze Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 25, 2008
    Oregon
    I have a hen that is about a year and started brooding about 4/23. I moved her from the coop into her own areaon 4/25 (night) I kept her on that box the next day, then opened her box night of 4/26. I don't think she is getting off the nest for anything??
    I have her in a "chicken barn" from teh feed store, it is about 3 feet square. I have it lined with straw. I made her a new nest out of a Luvs box, put a goat fleece in it and grass hay (same hay as was in the laying boxes). I put her feed and water on a small piece of plywood. It does not look like she messed with the feed at all.
    I just got back in from taking her off the nest. she pecked and growled at me and got right back on. There was one egg with runny poo slime on it.

Any advice would be appreciated! I am a complete novice at broodies.
    [​IMG]
    (my exp: we got chickens in October, a hen with 5 chicks and some year old hens. I have a seperate run with about 14 pullets that are about 8 weeks now, raised from day olds. The broody is a smallish red/blond/black speckeled and the roo is a barnavelder. She has 9 eggs)

2. ChickenCat

ChickenCat Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 1, 2009
    craig county, VA
    If she is broody, and it sounds like she is. She will get off the nest when she is READY to get a drink or a bite. She will stay on the nest, loose weight and look down right natty before those chicks are born. It's a tough few weeks for the hen, but she will make it. [​IMG] Don't worry about that egg. If you want to check the eggs, just slip your hand under her, lift gently for a peek and put her back down.

3. Lach Cnoc Farm

Lach Cnoc Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2009
    Western Washington