I dyed my eggs tonight! - UPDATED!! They're Hatching!! *GRAPHIC PIC*

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Lach Cnoc Farm, Apr 27, 2009.

1. Lach Cnoc Farm

Lach Cnoc Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2009
    Western Washington
    I dyed my eggs tonight! This is my very first attempt at doing this, i really hope it works. I sterilized, cleaned and was as careful as i possibly could have been. I can' wait to check on them in a few days, i really hope they all hatch, i cant wait! [​IMG]

Has anyone else ever dyed eggs before? How did your hatches turn out?

Also, while i was candling them tonight i found a double yolker! one of my leg horn girls gave me twins, nice, happy, swimmy twins, i'm super excited to see what comes of this egg, never had a double yolker before!

[​IMG]

Last edited: May 7, 2009
  2. dancingbear

dancingbear Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2008
    South Central KY
    What did you use for pigment? I've read how to do this, but I don't remember what they said to use for color. Is this for group identification purposes?

3. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member

Good luck.

Most dye jobs for fun are done post hatch because of the risk of infection and hitting key things like veins. In lab settings.. it's a bit different.

4. MRW

MRW Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2008
    Gales Ferry, CT
    I had actually looked up how to do this myself, but had no idea where to get a needle....any ideas? I did read that food coloring could be used. Is that what you used? How old are the eggs?

5. Lach Cnoc Farm

Apr 16, 2009
    Western Washington
    I did use food color for dye. The eggs i did were from day 11-13 into incubation. I had a friend give me an antique vet bag a while back, full of all sorts of stuff, including NEW, UNOPENED needles. I of course sterilized them again to make sure everything was clean.