I feel so mean!!!!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Christie Rhae, Jul 8, 2011.

1. Christie Rhae

Christie Rhae Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 5, 2010
    Big Island, Hawaii
    I have been letting my 16 hens free range on my property for a couple of months now. At first all was fine. Then I notice egg numbers down just a little. Well, now I get 6 eggs in the nest boxes if I am lucky!! I used to get 12 to 14 eggs every day! So we are always on a hunt for eggs in the woods and brush. As soon as I find one of their secret spots they stop using it. I have had a hen go broody sitting on 18 eggs before I discovered her, collected the eggs and shooed her off. I have found several secret hoards but lately they are getting more tricky. Plus these darn chickens poop all over my porch trying to get to the cat food.

These girls obviously are not with the program. I feed them gourmet food, they lay eggs, I collect the eggs. [​IMG]
    So... today I did not let them out of their coop/run. The poor things are so anxious and pacing. They want out so bad! I am sure some of them are dying to lay their eggs. Guess they will just have to use the deluxe nest boxes I built for them and that they used for the first 8 months of their egg laying lives! lol Jeez!

Looking forward to a load of eggs this afternoon! [​IMG]

2. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens

I know what you mean - mine get pretty vocal if I don't let them out of the run by 8am. But you do whatcha' gotta' do [​IMG] Just start letting them out to range after 5 PM or so. Maybe after a few weeks of reinforcement in using the nest boxes, you can try letting them out early again. [​IMG]

3. southerndesert

southerndesert B & M Chicken Ranch

Jun 17, 2011
    Morristown, AZ
    Our chickens only get free range after noon... Most of the laying is done by then, but we have 2 EE that go back in to lay around 3:00pm. Maybe try letting them out a little later in the day.

4. HorseFeatherz NV