I gave my chicken a cold?!?!?!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by CelestialChicks, Feb 22, 2015.

1. CelestialChicks

CelestialChicks Out Of The Brooder

Jul 8, 2014
    Hi dear friends of the BCY community.

I am fairly new to this chicken keeping thing and now have a very broody cochin bantam on my hands. She has acted this way for a week now and since I am not interested in extending my flock at the moment I want to try, for her health's own sake, to break her out of the broodiness. I have researched many methods and one of them is putting a package of frozen peas underneath her in the nesting box. This may sound silly but.... she will obviously get cold and perhaps freeze sitting on those frozen peas so is there a risk that she will get sick from the cold and get an actual cold? The only reason I want to break her from being broody is because I want her to eat and stay healthy so I don't want to do anything to jeopardize her health.

Suggestions?
    Cheers

2. krista74

krista74 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2014
    Victoria, Australia.
    Hi there,

Personally I wouldn't go for the frozen peas just yet. I think it could well result in some sort of freezer-burn to her delicate skin, so I would not recommend that.

The most reliable method I know of is the Buster Cage. Get a dog crate/rabbit hutch with a fine wire base and place it up on bricks to allow free circulation of air underneath. Put in a large pot of water (that can't be tipped over), some feed, and your broody hen. Do not put any bedding in there!

Make sure the cage is protected from the elements (put a sheet of tin over the top to protect her from the sun, or put the whole cage in a garden shed if it's snowing/raining hard) and lock her in there for 2 days straight.