I gave my pullets grass clippings :(

debbieharry

Chirping
May 12, 2020
Hi there, I’m a chicken newbie and just made a serious rookie mistake, I now realize. I have 3 9-month old Leghorn pullets and yesterday gave them a pile of grass clippings that included long strands after we weed whacked the lawn. They had a great time scratching in them and eating them and seem fine, except this evening I noticed that one of them has a noticeably full crop. I have now read up (too late) on the dangers of long grass clippings this evening (why are they not featured in any of the many lists I have read about what not to feed chickens?!). I’m panicking here and feel terrible for potentially causing my hen a problem! will check in the morning to see if it has gone down, but if not I guess it’s likely impacted. (The other two did not have noticeably distended crops.) The other problem is that the pullets have only been with me for 3 weeks - they came from a small scale commercial operation and had not been handled nor raised well, and they are extremely panicky - I am gradually training them to take food from me but they are way too scared for me to pick them up. So I have no idea how I will administer oil via the beak, as seems to be recommended, if the one pullet’s crop is still distended tomorrow! Does anyone have any tips for me? Thanks! Here’s a pic of my girls from a few days ago ❤️❤️❤️

Attachments

• 5FBE1E6F-EEB5-4951-A4D9-65DA59ADB690.jpeg
    5FBE1E6F-EEB5-4951-A4D9-65DA59ADB690.jpeg
    856.9 KB · Views: 25
Most inportant is that they can eat small stones to grind the grass. I bet you can buy them at tractor supply.

My chickens eat a lot of grass if they have the chance to do so. And I often give them grass after sowing. Sometimes long clippings too. Never had a problem. The chickens always have acces to a bowl filled with pigeons grit* (oyster shells and sharp stones) bc I have very small chickens I think thats better as the chicken grit.