I got babies yesterday!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by sphillips, Mar 4, 2013.

1. sphillips

sphillips Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 18, 2013
    New Mexico
    I'm a newbie to this. Went to TSC yesterday to pick up a couple of smaller water containers, as my plans have changed for where I will keep my babies. I was going to have them in a large garden tub, but in condsideration of my bad back, my husband set up two smaller tubs to make it easier on me. I'm patiently (not so much) waiting on my order of chicks to come in, but my husband just couldn't resist, and we brought home 6 pullets, mystery breeds. They had some larger chicks that were already feathering out, but I wanted the small ones, so that when my new ones come, they will be closer in age, and hopefully less of a problem to introduce to eachother. I got them set up in the tub, they were very 'sleepy' at first, and weren't moving around much. I had dipped their beaks in water when I first put them in, but later again I did the same, and showed them their food. They all drank and ate, and I felt much better. I'm brooding them in their coop outside, and made several trips out there last night to make sure I had the temp right for them should it get very cold. They all made it through the night, weren't bunched up, and were quiet when I went out this morning, so I'm guessing they are comfortable. The temp under the light was about 85 this morning, and I noticed yesterday that these chicks are pretty comfortable at that temp. It was hotter last night in the brooder, but I was trying to plan for a drop in temp early this morning. I'm glad I decided to get a few babies early, as it will give me a chance to 'practice' before my 25 others come. A few questions: I did give them electrolytes and probiotics in one waterer, and plain water in the other. How long do I need to give them the electolytes? Also, I have medicated feed as well as non medicated (couldn't decide which to use). Can I mix those