I got my first geese!!! a TRIO!!! ***A LOT of Pictures***

Discussion in 'Geese' started by mahsmaj, Aug 9, 2009.

1. mahsmaj

mahsmaj Songster

Jun 25, 2008
    Hannibal, Missouri
    The guy I bought them from said he didnt know what breed they were. I think they are brown chinese. The guy told me there was a gander and two geese. Im pretty sure hes right. Do you guys think they are brown chinese and how old do you think they are???

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I'm sooo happy that I finally got geese!!! [​IMG] Thanks for looking!!! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 9, 2009
  2. Soccer Mom

Soccer Mom Songster

May 5, 2009
    West of Crazy
    Beautiful geese! They look very happy. Lots of nice grazing for them and a pond for playing in. What more could geese want? I"m not sure if they are brown Chinese or African. The necks aren't quite as long as I would expect on a Chinese, but they look a little small and slim for African. I'm new to geese myself, so I'm hardly an expert. [​IMG] Hopefully one of the people in the know will come along.

3. mahsmaj

mahsmaj Songster

Jun 25, 2008
    Hannibal, Missouri
    Yeah. They have huge fields to roam around and huge pastures with mowed grass! There are also two ponds, the one they like the best though is the bigger one. I will get pictures of all the land in a little bit!

4. goosedragon

goosedragon Songster

Mar 28, 2009
    Central NC
    Quote:They are young, 2009 hatch for sure. I think the one with the bigger black knob above the bill
    is a gander. I'm not sure which breed they are, the necks seem short for Chinas but the heads seem small and 'snakey' for Africans. As they develope more it will be easier to tell which breed or a cross they are. Generally nice looking geese.

5. duck walk

duck walk Songster

Jun 13, 2009
    white springs, fl
    [​IMG]