I guess I have a brooding chicken???

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by 1indian, Sep 4, 2014.

1. 1indian

1indian Out Of The Brooder

Mar 15, 2014
    I'm new to chickens. Bought some this spring and wasn't prepared for them to start laying at four months. I didn't (and still don't) have their laying house built.

One of my chickens has started roosting in the little hutch where all the chickens are laying (all in the same nest,btw). All my chickens are hens and I get that they don't understand their eggs won't hatch. She's on that nest when I get there after night. I assume she gets off during the day because there are multiple eggs in the nest which I empty every day.

So is this brooding or something else? And if it is brooding, what should I do? Everyone seems to be laying like normal

2. Americano Blue

Americano Blue Mush on!

Apr 14, 2014
    Hello Spring
    My Coop
    [​IMG]
    Yes this is normal behavior. Do how many nesting boxes do you have? if you only have 1, the others might be laying around her. She will get off to eat drink and poop, then go back to her eggs. First off you should move her into a broody breaker away from the others. When one goes broody, it won't be long for the others to join her. My broody breaker is a large wire dog crate with chicken wire on the bottom, food and water dish and a perch. I would look up videos and other threads about "how to brake a broody hen" or "how to make a broody breaker". Good luck with your hens and I hope this helps.

3. 1indian

Mar 15, 2014