I have a 10 day old chick that is growing slowly and acting strange...

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by DoubleBoop, Nov 24, 2017.

1. DoubleBoop

DoubleBoop In the Brooder

Nov 23, 2017
    I have a 10 day old chick that is growing much slower than the other 7 I have. They're all the same age. All of them are very quiet and well behaved except one. The one had crusty butt a couple days ago that I took care of and she was silent and happy for a day but now is acting like she's in pain again. She makes noise constantly unless she's asleep and when I hold her I can feel her tense up or wince every now and then. She acts very needy and I don't know what she wants. She eats, drinks, and poops just fine, isn't cold or hot, but is much smaller than the other chicks. Here's a video of what she's doing and a picture of her next to the other chicks. I don't know if there is anything I should worry about or not. This is my first time raising chicks on my own so any advice is well appreciated.

upload_2017-11-24_22-54-39.png

2. DoubleBoop

Nov 23, 2017
    I just noticed a bulge above her breast, below the neck. I assume that's the crop? I think this is the source of the chick's behavior. Maybe this can help? Could the food be getting stuck in the crop?

[​IMG]

3. DoubleBoop

Nov 23, 2017
    Another picture. Ignore the photobomber..

[​IMG]

4. WhiteWyan

WhiteWyan Songster

May 17, 2017
    Ulster Park
    I had a chick do that too. Definitely impacted crop. Give them chick grit right away. Get rid of anything like grass, straw, wood shavings. Put them on paper towels or puppy pee training pads. It's from the fibrous materials. I made that mistake by putting them on wood shavings.

5. Adorable photobomb and babies :)