I have a cochin who doesn't seem to want to leave the coop

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by catlvr976, Mar 6, 2013.

1. catlvr976

catlvr976 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 5, 2007
    Near Meadville, Pa
    I am still pretty new to all this, but I'm wondering if she might be starting to go broody?

She is either hanging out in the coop (she used to roam around my yard with her buddies) or sitting on a nest. When you touch her, she makes this odd, purry type sound. I can't really describe it.

Is she getting sick maybe?

Thanks!

2. catlvr976

Mar 5, 2007
    Near Meadville, Pa
    I think I may have my answer. I went out there to check, and sure enough, she was still sitting there, so I touched her and she made that weird noise again. I put 2 eggs near to her, she took them and rolled them underneath herself.

I am set to get some fertile eggs tomorrow, as I have no rooster. Could I attempt to let her hatch a few? How will I know she is serious?

3. Bill 101

Bill 101 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 1, 2013
    Oregon
    Is she is Cochin, she is serious. The make great setters & mothers. Give her the eggs & let her do her thing

4. catlvr976

Mar 5, 2007
    Near Meadville, Pa
    Is this unusual b/c she has only laid a few eggs so far....I guess what I mean is it too early for her? She is 31 weeks old. She does occasionally roam about the yard but then runs right back to where she's been sitting. She is also eyeing us up something fierce when we go into the coop. She is not pecking at us when we reach toward her, though. If she's standing right by the nest box, if you approach her, she will back up towards the nest.

Thanks again!!

5. Den in Penn

Den in Penn Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 15, 2011
    SE Pa.