I have a couple of d'uccle questions. Can someone help please?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by jenfletcher, Jun 25, 2019.

1. jenfletcher

jenfletcher In the Brooder

Apr 25, 2019
    North Alabama
    I have been looking for d'uccle chicks. I finally found a lady that has some. These are the pics of the hen and roo. I am new to chickens and have no idea if I am looking at d'uccle. Do yall think these are? When I pick out chicks how will I have and idea of what they will look like. I have googled but it was no help. Thanks!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 25, 2019
    MROO likes this.
  2. EggSighted4Life

EggSighted4Life Free Ranging

They look like D'uccle but the male is not to breed standard or at least not milli fleur.

I NEVER buy broody hatched chicks... to much possibility of disease. Are they offering incubator chicks?

Consider hatchery???

3. RoostersAreAwesome

RoostersAreAwesome Free Ranging

May 21, 2017
    The hen is a pure d'uccle, the rooster is a mix. D'uccles should be mottled.

4. Folly's place

Folly's place Free Ranging

Sep 13, 2011
    southern Michigan
    I agree. Mine, not show quality, came originally from a hatchery. Purebreds, nice birds. Mixes are fine, but won't be if you really want to have purebreds.
    Look at feathersite, and some of the catalogs (Cackle has pictures). There's likely a breed club, with online access.
    I think your best chance to have healthy chicks is from a hatchery, especially if there's a place within driving distance.
    They come in several beautiful colors too!
    Mary

AmyJane725 and EggSighted4Life like this.
  5. jenfletcher

Apr 25, 2019
    North Alabama
    Pretty sure these are a broody hatch

6. jenfletcher

Apr 25, 2019
    North Alabama
    There are no hatcheries close to me :(
    Does anyone know what the minimums are at the different online hatcheries. Is it too hot to ship now?

7. Folly's place

Folly's place Free Ranging

Sep 13, 2011