I have a few questions about planning my new coop and run

jsanders

In the Brooder
10 Years
May 15, 2009
Calera aka Minooki
First, I am new to chickens. I have 4 red comet chicks and 6 white big chicks. I live in Alabama so the weather is pretty decent around here except for a good bit of rain. I plan on building the run and coop unders some pine trees for shade. The run is going to be pretty big, about 12 x 12 or so. I am using trees for corners so I'm not exactly sure. I want to make the coop 4 x 8 with 3 or 4 nesting boxes. I am planning on using either 5 gal buckets or those square kitty litter buckets (they look small). I use a lot of straw here so I plan to use that in the house.

I know I need 4 sq ft/ chicken for the coop but is it going to be crowded under these circumstances to have 3.2 sq ft/ chicken? Will the pines cause problems? Will using trees for corners be a problem?

I've been reading here a lot lately and it is a life saver to have you guys available to help us new to chickens out. Thank you!

The problem with the pine trees for corners is going to be sealing the bottom of the pen against predators. An electric fence might solve that problem. I'm in southeast Arkansas, and except when the buffalo gnats are out, my chickens spend very little time in the coop except for roosting and laying. It never gets cold enough to keep them inside. Occasionally during a really cold rain they will stay inside. So I think for the number of chickens you have it would be ok. The only problem is, what are you going to do when you get more chickens?
big_smile.png

Are the "white big chicks" CornishX (might also be called Cornish Rock) broiler chicks, by any chance? If so that is a whole different kettle o fish and you may have a hard time keeping them alive past a few months as their cardiovascular systems are not designed to live that long.