1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I have a few questions I'm a newbie

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Erock1234, Sep 15, 2010.

1. Erock1234

Erock1234 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 28, 2010
    Hi [​IMG]I have a few questions if anyone might be able to help. I have a few chickens I have 3 rir one is a roo, 3 Australorps. I had them for a few weeks and decided I wanted more so i bought one leghorn, 2 plymoth rocks i think ones a roo, and 2 Ameraucana (i think they are orange and the guy said one lays green eggs)

OK I didn't want to throw them all in on account I heard two roos means trouble so i kept the pair of rocks out of the mix and cooped all the others and put the rocks in their own digs. well today i let them all out, i figured if they were going to fight I was gonna be there rather than while i'm at work. besides neither of the roos have spurs so whats the worst that can happen. well the hens did their thing but other than no problems until time to get them back up needless to say i couldn't catch the newbies lol. Well i went to church and left the doors open I knew my flock would stay in until I closed and opened the door again, and to my surprise the two orange went into the little coop and all the rest went into the big coop. Now the questions

1. I have to go to work tomorrow is it ok to leave them be in the coops and runs they went to?

2. the leghorns sleeping in one of the laying boxes rather than perching and she's smaller than the rest is this ok behavior?

3. One of the rocks ( I hope this don't sound silly) but it seems at times she has gills or something the side of her head pokes out is this a he?

4. I have 4 laying boxes in the big coop and one small in the other is this sufficient for them?