I have a huge conflict

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by ridgefire, Jan 25, 2009.

1. ridgefire

ridgefire Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 8, 2008
    Northern Michigan
    Ok for those that don't know I work in law enforcement as a dispatcher. Well on today's shift we had a trooper checking back roads. We have had a rash of B&E of camps. So any cars stopped on a dead end road in the middle of no where draws officers attention. So this trooper checked the car and ran the names for me to run through our computer to check warrants and the normal traffic stuff. Well the one name ran was my wife's best friend and the other name was, well not her husband, how's that. She apparently was name dropping me to the trooper. You know the basic hey my best friend works in dispatch, his name is yadda yadda. The trooper was like yeah I know him and your point. She begged the trooper not to tell me she was out there and asked if I was working, well the trooper told her he didn't know who was at the desk right now. In other words he lied to try and keep me from being involved more than the name drop. So he clears and moves on about his day. The trooper stopped at dispatch to talk to me. He was telling me the story about how there was two cars stopped he figured either B&E or drug deal the way the cars were. So he approached and the first car was empty, so he approached the second car and there they were, lets say a bit surprised at the officer knocking on the window. He said he didn't really see anything but neither one had pants on. More than enough info for me.
    Now for the conflict part, normally I never say anything to anyone about what happens at work. I run my wife's friends all the time or I run family members and I never say a word to them when I see them. But because of my wife's friendship with this woman I have become good friends with her husband.