I have a question about nesting boxes

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by urban-chick-mom, Jul 28, 2011.

1. urban-chick-mom

urban-chick-mom Out Of The Brooder

Apr 27, 2011
    Gig Harbor, WA
    My 3 girls, age 4 months old were sleeping in the 2 nesting boxes at night. I researched on how to get them out of the habit so what I did was put a box in the nesting box area so they can't access it. For a week now they have been using the roosting area(which is right next to the nesting boxes) to sleep and poop. My question is: when should I remove the box and open up the nesting area. Being a newbie I don't know when they will start laying eggs. I am afraid that if I open it up too soon they will start sleeping in it again. Any thoughts?
    thanks!

2. darkmatter

darkmatter Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2009
    I too had problems with Juvenile chickens not wanting to roost on the ladder roost and doing the overnight thing in the nest boxes. In my case it was due to already having adult chickens apparently intimidating the Juveniles during the phase of going from floor to roost. I fixed it by modifying my nest boxes with a hinged board I could close over shutting off the nest at night. So when putting them up at night, I would kick out the Juveniles from the nest boxes and close them up, leaving them no choice but to share the roost with the adults if they wanted off the floor. It only took about a week or two to get habituated to the roost and I no longer had to kick them out of the nest boxes at evening.

Here's a picture from another post, but you can see the hinged boards I can close over the nest boxes.
    [​IMG]

3. coreybee

coreybee Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 6, 2011
    Nottingham, PA
    Quote:That's a REALLY good idea!

4. wava1vaughn

wava1vaughn Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 24, 2011
    Cairo Ga.