I have a Question.....

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chuck_H, Apr 12, 2009.

1. Chuck_H

Chuck_H Out Of The Brooder

Apr 12, 2009
    Huntersville, NC
    I have 3 week old chicks....At what age should I be able to take them out of their box w/Heat lamp and let them loose in their coup?
    I'm kinda new to this...

2. FLOWERPOT

FLOWERPOT Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2008
    Southern Indiana
    It really depends on the weather where you are. What are the average daily temps? Also when they get feathered out enough to keep them warm
    My chicks are 4 weeks old and the temps outside have been in the 60's, they are out and doing very well. I have been keeping a heat light on them at night only out there because it is still getting in the low 40's at night.
    Where are you from?
    And
    [​IMG]
    Hope we see you around here, its lots of fun!

3. Chuck_H

Chuck_H Out Of The Brooder

Apr 12, 2009
    Huntersville, NC
    North Carolina.....Weather same here.....$40's low and 60's-70's high.....So, I might be able to put them under heat lamp at night?...Loose during Day?

4. thedeacon

thedeacon Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 14, 2008
    Midwest
    I let mine out at 2 wks of age. It still gets down to upper 20's some nights. However, the peeps just stay under the heat light when they get cold and run the pen the rest of the time. Day temps are 40-60. You may need th heat light possible until 8-10 wks old.

5. JenMT

JenMT Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 21, 2009
    Kalispell, Montana
    I'm with thedeacon, I live in NW Montana I moved my girls outside with a heat lamp at night only when they were 7 weeks old. It did get into the 20's a few times and they were fine. They are now without any heat at 10 weeks old and are doing great. Good luck to you and your chicks.

6. montana girl

montana girl Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 23, 2007
    Kalispell, Montana