1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I have extremely picky girls that only eat grapes for treats! What are some treats y'all feed picky

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by mamahenjess, May 2, 2016.

1. mamahenjess

mamahenjess Out Of The Brooder

May 2, 2016
    Texas
    Hi everyone! I am new to raising chickens but have always heard and read they will eat almost anything. I've researched treats for them and tried the following with them: blackberries, lettuce, cabbage, carrots, blackberries, yogurt, cracked corn, meal worms, scrambled eggs, sunflower seeds... The only thing thing they like as a treat Ive tried besides what I listed so far are grapes! I really need to find a treat they like because I'm planning on beginning free ranging them soon but want to be able to call them to return to the coop and want to train them to do so with treats. They are 8 weeks old, I give them very few treats a day becsuse they are young and still on starter feed, but I want to find some kind of treat they like. Does anyone else have picky chickens? If you do, what do yours like besides just grapes??

2. DanEP

DanEP Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2010
    Cadiz Ky
    Chickens will eat a wide variety of things but are nervous about new things. Try stopping the grapes and just leave a small pile of bird seed or scratch in the run and ignore it. They will watch it for a while but sooner or later one of the girls will get brave and try it then the others will follow suite Just be aware that with treats they will need grit. I use construction sand for grit and it works well and is cheap. Its the same sand you use for mixing concrete and you get 50lbs for about 4 bucks.