I have questions about a "new to me" 8mo Barred Rock Hen behaviour, eating, & diarrhea. Any help wou

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by r1forb, Dec 13, 2012.

1. r1forb

r1forb Out Of The Brooder

Dec 2, 2012
    Sunny Florida
    I'm new to having chickens and so far have only had Turkens, which I raised from about 2.5 weeks. Our Rooster absolutely HAD to go, so last Sat I traded him at a farm swap meet for a 8 month old Barred Rock hen, of who I was told was already laying. Now I do understand she could be stressed but how long might it be, before I see an egg from her? IF she was in fact already laying eggs. I was so excited to finally be getting eggs (or so I thought) ,as my Turken hen is just turning 5 mos tmrw and is not laying yet.
    The BR whom I have named Lucy is in Quarantine in a nice large coop of her own inside my garage. I have not had the chance to take her outside yet due to weather, but I do have a sun lamp in there for her. She has had what I would call diarrhea or extremely watery poop since bringing her home. It worried me as I have NEVER seen something like this come out of my Turkens. I did just check out the "poop" page and according to that I guess I don't have much to worry about(it looks exactly like the pic labeled "watery") but as I said, my turkens do not poop anything like this. Is it normal for it to be almost projectile pooping ....I mean I could actually hear this girl from across the garage!!![​IMG]