I have the foursquare from MyPetChicken - question about ventilation?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by wahmommy, Jan 12, 2011.

1. wahmommy

wahmommy Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 14, 2010
    I've attached a link to the picture of our coop (on MPC's site). We have two EE hens (ideally like to have 4, eventually). We built an additional run, but then as I was looking though this excellent forum for more ideas I started learning about coop ventilation. There is a window in the front, but a) its got some kind of thin plastic across it and b) it would be drafty where they roost. So I can't just knock out the plastic and put hardware cloth across right? The back of the coop is faced by a concrete wall, so that side has protection from wind etc., but the roof drains to the back. Just wondering what you would do if you had this coop to improve ventilation for the hens while in the coop?

http://www.mypetchicken.com/catalog/Chicken-Coops/The-Foursquare-Coop-with-Run-Ships-Free-p720.aspx

2. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    First, what climate are you in and where is the roost located inside the coop? If it is staying warm (seldom below 40) at night then I see no harm in replacing the plastic with securely-attached mesh. But if you're somewhere a lot below freezing then that wouldn't work. Somewhere 'borderline' it would depend how close the roost is to that window.

Do you have the attached roofed run that they show, or just the coop? If you had the run then I would think that the best place for wintertime-type vents would be at the top of the wall that is shared with the run. Unless this would put the vents right over the roost.

Really, in a tiny coop like that your best place for the vents is usually wherever is *furthest* from the roost, so that is probably the major controlling factor.