I have to shed two roos. Please help decide?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Atomic Ranch, Sep 21, 2011.

1. Atomic Ranch

Atomic Ranch Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2011
    El Cerrito, So Cal
    Hello,

My chickens are all 20 - 22 weeks. 14: 11 hens and 3 cockerels. They are starting to lay and crow. As a chicken newb, I was hopeful that all of them would continue to get along swimmingly, and they were all raised together. I've been told that ONE rooster is appropriate for 11 hens. Research seems to agree. Two questions:

1. Is this true? Do you agree that I should only have one cockerel to 11 hens, and that I have to re-home(?) two?

2. Which rooster do I keep?

The cochin: Clearly, the flock leader. Fertilized eggs, every one so far (about a dozen), so he gets on with the ladies. He paces outside the coop after dark, I assume protecting his flock, until I come out to shut them in. I hear they eat a lot, though, and if I want more chickens, the offspring will eat more and lay less.

The buff orpington: The most personable, by a landslide. He suffers a peck on his comb every now and then though.

The leghorn: A rescue. I think he's the most interesting to look at, he doesn't crow (perhaps due to the health issue) as of yet, and is gentle with the ladies. Extremely agile and scrappy. Offspring would lay more, yes? He's near the bottom of the pecking order though.

Last edited: Sep 21, 2011
  2. Atomic Ranch

May 7, 2011
    El Cerrito, So Cal
    I'll post photos tomorrow. [​IMG]

Photos on page 4...

Last edited: Sep 22, 2011
  3. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    Unless you feel like switching roos now and then or something, yeah, one for that flock is best otherwise the girls will be stressed and bare-backed.