1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I just got ducklings! A few questions about them.!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ticks, Jun 22, 2008.

1. ticks

ticks Pheasant Obsessed

Apr 1, 2008
    The Sticks, Vermont
    I just picked up 4 baby mallard/roun ducklings! They were born a few days ago. This is my first time with ducks and I have a few questions:
    1.) Do they always shake when they eat?
    2.) What should I do if I have no light? I put a heating pad underneath them.
    3.) When can they swim?
    4.) How big will they be in a few weeks?
    5.) why are they so messy!?

Last edited: Jun 22, 2008
  2. dixygirl

dixygirl Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2008
    Maybe if you drape a thin cloth over the container they are in the heat might distribute better to help avoid drafts. You should be able to pick up an infra red light bulb and housing at a Home Depot I think.

Mine did not get that big yet. Maybe a bit larger than a large pigeon. But i never saw them shake before. I don't know about that.

3. GoodEgg

GoodEgg Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 12, 2007
    NW Florida
    I've done fine with a heating pad on brooders at times. you have to make sure it stays DRY, and keep an eye on them to make sure it's warm enough. I'd definitely cover it. I usually put the heating pad under 1/2 of the box/tank, etc. so they can move away if needed. It really depends though on how warm the pad gets, the temp of your room, etc. I can't find one anymore that doesn't cut off after 2 hours, so I have to use my old one.

Not sure what you mean about shaking while eating? Make SURE they have access to water deep enough to get their bills into when they eat or they can choke on starter.