I just had a chick hatch on day 17!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by CocoPopz, Mar 26, 2015.

1. CocoPopz

CocoPopz Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2013
    Sheffield UK
    My chick just hatched, only just turned to day 17!!!

2. citruslady

citruslady New Egg

Feb 17, 2015
    What happens when they hatch early. I had 9 hatch on day 19 and 6 more on day 20 and we are still waiting or the other 13. They are all eating, drinking and peeping happily.

3. Blooie

Blooie Team Spina Bifida Premium Member

Feb 25, 2014
    Northwestern Wyoming
    My Coop
    I'm no expert, having never had a incubator, but I didn't want you to think your post was being ignored! Folks get busy and don't always answer right off, but will respond when they get the chance.

I'd say, relax and enjoy them! They apparently had their own calendar going and it just didn't coincide with yours...as long as they are eating and peeping and doing well, that's important. I don't know what to tell you about the eggs still in the incubator. That's one of those touchy things where I've seen people wonder if they should open the 'bater early and get the hatched chicks out or wait so they don't mess up the hatch still to take place, or leave the babies in until either all of the eggs have hatched or been declared as duds. I can't advise you there. Sorry for not being much help.

4. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    How are you guys counting your days?? You are not counting the day you set teh eggs as day 1 right? You don't start count until the eggs have been incubating for 24 hours. So if you set them on a Monday at 12pm day one STARTS Tuesday at 12pm.

17 days is really early...worrisome early. Early hatchers points to higher than recommended average temps during incubation.

My last hatch started pipping late day 19 but didn't hatch until day 20/21. All but one healthy and strong.