1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I just have to inquire about this chicken product.

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Guinea Goonie, Jan 15, 2009.

1. OK, I saw this item and I guess I am just a newbie.

BUT, what the heck are these used for ?

[​IMG]

2. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member

I have no clue! At first I thought it went all the way around and would have thought for bigger birds to keep them from biting, but it looks like it's pinching that birds airways.... Weird.

3. PurpleChicken

PurpleChicken Tolerated.....Mostly

Apr 6, 2007
    Iceland
    I believe they are used to prevent chicken fights.

4. ranchhand

ranchhand Rest in Peace 1956-2011

Aug 25, 2008
    SC
    They're blinders, to prevent pecking of another bird. [​IMG]

5. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member

Quote:Yep!

They are blinders... to prevent picking on other birds!

Often they are used on game type birds, like pheasants, which are territorial but need to be kept in confines for breeding programs or just safe keeping. It keeps them from picking each other to pieces. Not usually used or needed on chickens.

6. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member

Thank you both of you!!! I knew they couldn't be for other stuff as they don't go all the way around. I was thinking of falcons because they are so sharp in the beak......

7. links_56

links_56 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 2, 2008
    Mercer County, IL