I keep my roos in a seperate coop. How long should I leave one in with my hens to get fertilized egg

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by mtngirl35, Dec 19, 2013.

1. mtngirl35

mtngirl35 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 10, 2013
    Tennessee
    I have 6 laying hens and 2 light sussex roosters. My girls were taking too much abuse when the roos got old enough to start breeding so I moved my roos to a separate coop. Now the hens are happy and the 2 guys get along good and all is peaceful. I am not new to keeping chickens but I am new to keeping roosters. I would like to be able to enlarge my flock without buying from outside sources. My question is: How long do I need to leave a roo in with my hens to start getting fertilized eggs? Should I let him visit for several days at a time or once a week? Or should I just get more hens and leave a roo wtih them full time? Any advice would be much appreciated!

2. Mahlzeit

Mahlzeit Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2007
    Long Island NY
    Bringing the roosters in with the hens and then taking them out constantly will cause a lot of chaos, stress and fighting. Is getting rid of one rooster out of the question? They say you want around 10 hens per rooster so if you wanted to get enough hens for your 2 roosters you'd need around 20 hens. I would imagine having the roosters with your hens for a few days would be enough to have the eggs fertilized. I do know that they will stay fertilized for around 2 weeks after you remove the roosters.

1 person likes this.
  3. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    [​IMG]

I'm guessing you're using an incubator?