I killed a chick... again.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Buns, May 9, 2011.

1. Buns

Buns Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 3, 2010
    Quitman, Texas
    For the second time when I gave a chick an injection of Baytril it fell over daed within minutes afterward. I give the injection the same exact way I do with every other bird. I just wondered if anyone had any ideas on what I was doing wrong. I am careful to select the correct site, the correct dose, and I aspirate before injecting to be certain I am not in a vein.
    Thank you for any input.
    Mary

2. stargazingmommy

stargazingmommy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2011
    Spokane
    I'm a human nurse, not a bird one, but it sounds like you're doing it right. My guess would be a reaction, especially if it wasn't the first dose(allergic reactions don't typically happen on first dose).

3. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Quote:How old are the chicks and why are you injecting baytril in them? Baytril is a very potent antibiotic as you probably already know and their young developing systems most likely cant handle it.

4. Buns

Buns Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 3, 2010
    Quitman, Texas
    Quote:Six to eight weeks old. Have been on denagard without success for 7 days at the full strength rate (1 Tbsp/1 Gallon water). Swollen eyes, sneezing, runny nose, losing weight. I didn't stoop to giving Baytril until their eyes began to swell and look bad and the weight loss became worse. Not all of the birds in this pen of about 12 have these symptoms, only about five.
    I have given tiny doses of Baytril to other birds of this age without issue, but in the past I did lose one in this same immediate fashion. I just wondered if others had experienced this.
    I would like to know what you would recommend in this type of situation - I'm very open to suggestions and want to do the best for my birds.
    Thank you for your reply.

5. dawg53