I lost the first member of my flock and want to prevent further deaths

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Stuck in the Suberbs, Jul 12, 2010.

1. Stuck in the Suberbs

Stuck in the Suberbs New Egg

Jul 12, 2010
    Salt Lake City
    Hi, I'm brand new to the blog. I have a small flock of 4 hens, now three. Earlier this morning I found Beatrice, my Americauna, stretched out under the coop. I had noticed her lack of appetite and energy over the last couple of days. I spread some food out right in front of her and later brought her some tasty favorites like apple and cantaloupe seeds which did tempt her a bit. She seemed listless and spent a lot of time just standing in one place. Her egg production has always been poor and since the time she was a chick her stools have been runnier than the other gals. I don't know if she was sick for a long time because of those reasons. I looked but did not notice mucus or any lesions. From what I've read hear I'm afraid she may have had a disease. (Although, I am relieved to know that sometimes chickens just died suddenly.)

My coop has a wooden floor and my run is just the bare ground with scattered wood shavings and grass clippings. How do I go about cleaning/disinfecting it? I usually just rake out the poop and spread a new layer of clippings each week. I'm worried about the other chickens being exposed to her droppings or pecking around where I found her still form. What is the best way to thoroughly clean? Also, should I bathe them? How would I go about doing that? Is there some kind of powdered disinfectant I can spread around?

Thanks so much for you help and experience!

2. LynneP

LynneP Chillin' With My Peeps