1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I lost track of time!!! Momma & Baby pic

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by kinardmommy, Aug 13, 2008.

1. kinardmommy

kinardmommy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2008
    Texas
    So I have two hens that are siting on 12 eggs apiece. I thought they had been sitting for about 2 weeks now. Well I go out today and two of the eggs that I got a look at are pipped!! I am sooo eggcited. This is such a pleasant surprise and it really made my day.

I do have a question. Their nest that they are on is about 4ft off the ground. Will the chicks fall out or what do I need to do? This is my first time hatching with a hen. Thank You

[​IMG]

Can I just tack hardware cloth over the opening to keep it secure? I will remove it after a couple of days and get them out. Right now I do not want to move them to ground level in the middle of hatching and risk the hens not hatching them completely.

Last edited: Aug 14, 2008
  2. keljonma

keljonma Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 12, 2007
    8A East Texas
    Yes, they will fall out. Mama hen will want to leave the nest and after they are a couple days old, she will expect them to follow her.

Can you lower it or move them to a protected nest at ground level? A large dog crate works well.

3. hatchcrazzzy

hatchcrazzzy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 8, 2007
    kemp texas
    they will fall out at least add a piece of wood on the front of the nest

4. kinardmommy

Apr 7, 2008
    Texas