I need advice on my duck eggs!!!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by aimsm, Nov 22, 2016.

1. aimsm

aimsm New Egg

Nov 21, 2016
    I'm a newbie to this site and over the last 5 days I have devoted all my time and effort into learning about hatching eggs. I am from sunny (humid and terribly hot) Queensland Australia.

So here's my story:
    I had 3 females sitting on eggs, all within about 2-3 weeks of each other. (I had no intentions of them ALL sitting on eggs!!!) They all kept swapping nests and moving them around the hut. Eventually after a month, one nest starts hatching ducklings, it was beautiful. Then a second nest started hatching ducklings and then became problems! A total of about 11 hatched. The other mother ducks started killing off the babies, slowly one by one. It was awful. Every couple of hours one was pecked to death to eventually only 1 still alive. Then the new babies that started hatching were also being pecked to death. Some were still in the shell half in. I ended up taking the duckling that was left. I also checked the eggs to see if any were hatching, two were in the process of hatching and I took those ones too. They are all alive and thriving.

I believe because I had stirred them up so much, they stopped sitting on the nest for a full day. About 5pm (Sunday) they still hadn't sat on the nest, so I took all the eggs that were sitting on one nest. I heard one chirp and could hear scratching and saw some movement- but only for a short period. I rang around and got my hands on an incubator and put them all in. There were a total of about 30 eggs!!! (I have never incubated eggs).