1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

i need help quick, chickens killed and ate my chicks...

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by sassy8_11, May 17, 2007.

1. sassy8_11

sassy8_11 Out Of The Brooder

May 16, 2007
    i went out this morning to feed the chickens. two of my chicks were missing. ( they are about 5 weeks old) the other 2 were in the pin but one looks sick. it looks all fluffed out and slow moving and its not eating. Well when i went to look in the coop for eggs...i found one of my chicks dead. The big chickens ate it. and i did not find the other missing one so im guessing they ate it completely. I am new to rasing chickens so my 1st questions is did i stave my other chickens? I go out and feed them about 4 times a day and feed them grass. What am i doing wrong? My second ? is about the other chick. Is it gonna die? Is there something that i can do to save it? My other chick looks fine its running around and looks good. I have removed the sick chick to a small cage away from my other birds. Please help me.

2. Forest_Nymph

Forest_Nymph Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    Maine
    Sorry to hear of your problems.

From experience, I've learned that putting chicks in with adults can be fatal. They should be separated until they're the same size and can fend for themselves. All adults will try to establish a pecking order and chicks definately will not survive under that pressure.
    If there is a way to put wire between the the young and the old then you can gradually introduce them into the flock. The adults will soon get used to their presence and accept them more easily later.