I need help with my Pekin duck

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Rachel7861, Mar 21, 2013.

1. Rachel7861

Rachel7861 New Egg

Mar 21, 2013
    I have 3 Pekin ducks. I can give you the history....

I got 2 from TSC and one was a victim of a fox or wolf. So then I had just the loaner (both were males). I then found 2 males on Craigslist that someone wanted to get rid of because they weren't useful to her anymore. So I took both and introduced them to my loaner. Now, one of the craigslist ducks is getting picked on (he's actually the biggest one) like crazy. I have now separated him but my question is what can i get so he isn't all alone? I'm going to have to build another pen for him and his future friend once the weather gets nicer because I live in Michigan and spring doesn't want to show up yet. Should i start with a baby chick? Should i just get a chicken? I'm new to owning ducks and horses are the reason we now live on a smaller farm. All of the ducks are around a year and a half now. Someone told me to trade him for a female and put the female with the 2 males. I don't want to get rid of this duck...they're part of the farm and the reason i got the males is just so they can be pets. We don't have kids so they'll all live with us forever.

I'd appreciate any help I can get. Thank you!

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.