I need help!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by knynrstylvr222, May 5, 2008.

1. knynrstylvr222

knynrstylvr222 Out Of The Brooder

May 5, 2008
    I have a chicken egg, and I got it from a biology class so im not sure when it started its incubation, but if i assume correctly today is day 20. There is no pipping, and im worried, when i candled my egg last night the air pocket was really big, but yesterday it started wiggling a little and then last night I could hear it peeping thru the shell. Im concerned that it does not have high enough humidity to hatch, because i dont have a closed incubator. (It was from a biology lab and I am a college student that cant afford an incubator). On that note im not completely stupid I bought a little thermometer and i have kept the temp very consistent at about 100 F, but i dont know about the humidity. Should I be really concerned??
    PLEASE HELP!!!

2. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    It is generally 21 days for chicks to hatch. What you are seeing and the peeping is good. Can you tent the area you have the egg in and put in a dish with a sopping wet atheletic sock? make sure it is a very warm to hot sock. It will help keep the humidity and the air warm and moist.

3. knynrstylvr222

May 5, 2008
    I will try to tent it in thanks. I have another question, what if i dont have the days right, so I may have stopped turning it too soon but only by a day, is that gonna be really bad?? this is obviously my first hatch. LOL

4. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    You should be fine. Don't fuss with it too much if you can. This still quiet time is critical.

5. Tuffoldhen

Tuffoldhen Flock Mistress

Jan 30, 2007
    WV