1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I need help.

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by windnleavesfarm, Aug 15, 2013.

1. windnleavesfarm

windnleavesfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2013
    central new york
    I am new at this incubation thing and i have just a few questions... i have four roosters and 12hens therefore my eggs are fertile. so questions:
    1. Can i hatch eggs even if my hen isnt broody? if i go out in the morning right when they lay there eggs bring them in the house and put them in the incubator will they still have a chance of hatching?

2. For chicken eggs what is the correct range of temp and humidity because im getting all sorts of answers i have a sheet i printed out and it says that the temp should be 99.5 - 100. And the humidity should be 60% - 65%.

2. Veer67

Veer67 Chillin' With My Peeps

Your hen doesn't need to be broody to have fertile eggs so go for it![​IMG]

3. windnleavesfarm

Aug 13, 2013
    central new york
    And last
    3. Do i need to rotate the eggs every day? I have a lot of other activities to take care of and idk if can can rotate them as often as they need to be. (ive been told to rotate them 5-6 times a day? Is that right)

4. Veer67

Veer67 Chillin' With My Peeps

1 person likes this.
  5. Sphinx

Sphinx Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2010
    Utah

This link has great, thorough advice.

Collect the eggs daily, and save them in a cool, dark place (like your basement) with the fat side up until you've got enough to incubate. Then put them in the incubator. Don't start incubating until you have collected all the eggs you want to hatch. Having a staggered hatch (putting in a couple eggs a day for several days) is a royal pain. Just don't do it!