1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I need some advice! Please!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Hennyhandler, Jan 24, 2012.

1. Hennyhandler

Hennyhandler SilkieJax

Jun 10, 2009
    Cullman
    I have a LG incubator and this is my first attempt at hatching. I am in the process of stabilizing it and have been doing pretty well. The temp went up on its own to 90 over a couple of hours and the humidity was 37. I knew that I needed to get it higher so after putting up a plug and turning the knob just a little it went up to 93 but the humidity went down to 16.
    I had the ceiling fan on and so I turned that off thinking it might help. I am following the incubation cheet sheet and it says not to worry about the humidity until day 18 which is fine but I worry that 16 is too low. I know it might even out but...
    Also, should I wait even longer for the temp to go up or turn the knob again?

The incubation cheet sheet is a dry incubation so I don't want to add water to get the humidity up.

Any advice??

Last edited: Jan 24, 2012
  2. berniezahm

berniezahm Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 24, 2008
    I run three LGs with fan and turners, and a fourth with just a fan as a hatcher. After you adjust the temp knob I' wait 3 or 4 hours for it to stablize at the new temp. When youu get it to 99.4 - 100 F, let it sit for 24 hours just to make sure it is stable at that temp. I've had two of mine that jumper to 104 after a day or so. I'd realy suggest waiting 2 days after you get the temp right just to make sure.
    Good Luck and Good Hatching! [​IMG]

3. berniezahm

berniezahm Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 24, 2008