1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I need some opinions

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by coolcanoechic, Nov 8, 2011.

1. coolcanoechic

coolcanoechic Chillin' With My Peeps

I have been searching online for days looking for a heated chicken waterer that would be just right for 3 full sized hens. I am a newbie and trying to get everything set up just right for when the hens arrive. Just when I think I want to buy something, I read the reviews and back off. Can anyone relate their experiences with heated chicken waterers to help me make a decision? Thanks everyone.
    Nancy [​IMG]

2. JodyJo

JodyJo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2010
    Colorado
    http://www.fleetfarm.com/catalog/product_detail/farm-livestock/livestock-supplies-equipment/watering-feeding/farm-innovations-poultry-waterer-heated-base?utm_source=googleps&utm_medium=shopping%2Bsearch&utm_campaign=google%2Bproduct%20search

this
    is the one I use...love it. I keep it in the coop, in the corner, it turns itself on at around 32*....keeps the water from freezing...that is until it drops to the sub zeros...then you usually only need to scoop out the ice. I had to take it in the house once last year at -20* and thaw it out...not bad!

3. coolcanoechic

coolcanoechic Chillin' With My Peeps

I have been looking at those. The plastic waterers have had some issues, so I have noticed by reading the reviews. These bases you showed me....they can only be used with metal waterers? Is using a metal waterer with the metal base the best way to go?

4. JodyJo

Sep 27, 2010
    Colorado
    I do like my metal waterer, never had an issue with it...I can sterilize it easier I think and it won't crack in extreme cold...