I need support!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by babybird2003, Feb 18, 2016.

1. babybird2003

babybird2003 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 20, 2015
    Colorado
    I am new to chickens. In April it will be a year of having them. I'm really discouraged. Last night I lost one of my favorite hens and about 6 weeks ago I lost another one of my hens. They both seemed to have different symptoms. The latest one to die seems like marek's or could be leukosis virus. I get really attached to my birds and in just devastated when one passes on. Chickens are supposed to be easy and relaxing but latkey all I do is stress about who will die next. I have some baby chicks and now I'm regretting getting them in the sadness that when they grow up I will just be sending them off to their death. My chickens get taken care of like goddess. I absolutely love them but now I'm thinking maybe I should keep doing it anymore. I'm really depressed and would love some feedback from people.
    Thanks.

2. Jensownzoo

Jensownzoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 7, 2016
    Saint Louis, MO
    Okay, this is more problem-solving than encouraging? You can submit the hen that died last night to the veterinary diagnostic lab for necropsy and know definitively the cause of death and whether or not you need to worry about the rest of your flock. If interested, the website for the one in Colorado is here: http://csu-cvmbs.colostate.edu/vdl/pathology/Pages/submitting-for-necropsy.aspx

3. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    I've been in your shoes with dying hens. The last one was a young cockerel who was my only chick ever to be hatched on premises, and when I sent took his body to the state lab, referenced above by Jen, I was informed he had lymphotic leucosis. His mother had died only months previously, but had managed to infect his egg and he was born with the disease. His liver weighed two pounds at the necropsy.