I need to make a well protected mobile coop/run!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by feelyweely, Dec 27, 2016.

1. feelyweely

feelyweely Out Of The Brooder

Dec 8, 2016
    Where I live, you must have a moveable coop. This will be my first time owning chickens so I have zero experience when it comes to building a coop. I need a design to make a well protected (we have a lot of hawks, raccoons, and snakes where I live) coop and run that is also moveable. I am not sure if that is a tall order or not but it seems difficult to me[​IMG]. Does anyone have any ideas what to add to a mobile coop to make it more secure or how to build a coop like that? I have heard about burying hardware wire underground, but then you can't move said coop?!?!?! Any ideas, pictures, links, or designs are greatly appreciated! Also, I will only be getting 6 hens since that is all the county allows. Thanks![​IMG]

2. Howard E

Howard E Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 18, 2016
    Missouri
    I built a movable / portable coop. You simply put it on skids and drag it around.

To protect it with an apron, I nailed the apron on the sides of the skids.

Go to my signature line, and look at the pics. The apron is discussed around post #5.

3. feelyweely

Dec 8, 2016
    @Howard E what do you mean by aprons? and can you send me a link to post #5? thanks! :)

4. Howard E

Howard E Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 18, 2016
    Missouri
    Rather than trying to bury wire, I lay it flat on the ground. At the junction between the vertical wall and the flat apron, I bend the apron wire up into an L shape. About 4" to 6", which I nailed to the sides of my skids.