I now have only one duck...what now?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Geckogrl133, Oct 23, 2013.

1. Geckogrl133

Geckogrl133 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 10, 2013
    southern Mn
    So my duck Aflac passed away this morning after possible botulism or hardware poisoning. This is the first duck death I have dealt with since I'm new to ducks. We only had the two girls and now The other one is alone. she was with Aflac when she passed, and she's being pretty vocal today when generally she's not. I don't know really if there is anything that I can do for her, but she's never been alone so I'm not sure if she will be okay or if I should be looking to get her a few more companions. What do I do? Any insight, advice or thoughts would be greatly appreciated! Here's a picture of the girls together last week
    [​IMG]

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    [​IMG]

So sad for your loss. Your duck would do better with another duck friend or two, as she was close to Aflac. They grieve, from what I have seen (we lost two to egg yolk peritonitis, and one to an undetermined cause).

Meanwhile if you can find a stuffed animal and a nonbreakable mirror that might help. There is a rehoming forum on BYC, and there are rescue groups here and there, too.

3. Geckogrl133

Geckogrl133 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 10, 2013
    southern Mn
    I was thinking more ducks would be good, I just wasn't sure what she would be like until then. I will put a stuffed animal in there tomorrow so she has some company. She followed all over the yard today and my heart broke for her. Thanks for the advice Amiga :)

4. HollyDuckFarmer

HollyDuckFarmer Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2012
    LP Michigan