1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I ordered 6 with one male and they sent me 12 with lots of males!!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by reikichan2002, Sep 12, 2012.

1. reikichan2002

reikichan2002 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 5, 2012
    Central Virginia
    So I went to the post office to pick up my ducklings this morning and was surprised to find 2 boxes instead of one...when I got home there were 6 ducklings in each box ...the one box has 3 males and the other has 1 male. 12 ducklings with 4 males....too many drakes right? I am new at this but I think that might be an issue. Oy...

Now what to do? I guess I will have to go to the swap and get rid of some of the males...

If you are in the central VA area I have 2 Pekin drakes, 1 Blue Swedish Drake and 1 Khaki Campbell drake to swap or sell.

They are all awfully cute and very very active! Making a mess already!

Sigh....[​IMG]

Dot

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Hmmm, four boys, eight girls. That is just too close to comfort. Three boys and nine girls would have been the low end of the recommended ratio of 1 to 3.

Wow.

Here's a bad idea for you. Since the hatchery made the error, would they send you four more girls for free?

[​IMG]

Welcome to the Duck World!

3. Ana Tidae

Ana Tidae Out Of The Brooder

Aug 29, 2012
    I have 2 boys for every 4 girls and don't have any issues. If you have extra girls and don't want that big of a flock, you might make a little money selling a couple pairs.

4. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    I doubt they would give you any credit or more ducks if they sent you extras to start with. Craig's list may be the way to go.

5. reikichan2002

Sep 5, 2012