1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I slaughtered my first chicken today. Asian style (Graphic Pictures)

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Roosterfry, Dec 25, 2010.

1. Roosterfry

Roosterfry Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 26, 2010
    North Mississippi
    I learned from my step grandfather who is from China, he has slaughtered hundreds of chickens in his day I'm sure, it was interesting. He said now I'm a professional, and we didn't waste much at all! [​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 26, 2010
  2. jnkir7

jnkir7 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2009
    jonesboro arkansas
    can you explain how you did it

3. Omniskies

Omniskies Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 7, 2008
    Missouri
    I would love to know how you did it, too. I'm always looking for new ways to use up the parts we traditional don't think of as edible.

4. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    I figure a cleaned out gizzard, the heart and liver are rewards for my dog for being so loving.

I throw away the intestines and the crop and the skin with the feathers.

5. chickengrl

chickengrl Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2010
    Northern Virginia
    [​IMG]

6. Omniskies

Omniskies Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 7, 2008
    Missouri
    We keep the gizzard, liver, heart, and lungs. If you have never fried lungs, you have to do it at least once. They balloon up into these tiny round balls that end up tasting like the gizzard/heart.