I started building my silkie coop! (Yep, by myself! Whoo hoo!)

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by The Lisser, Nov 13, 2010.

1. The Lisser

The Lisser Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm tired of stinky chickens in the house. They are adorable and sweet and even sit on my lap and watch tv (or I watch tv and they think chicken thoughts), but they are stinky. And they are 8 weeks old and the feather dust is incredible. My DH is going back to school 4 nights a week, plus working a full-time job, so he's pretty exhausted.

So I've been talking about building the silkies a coop for a while and today I actually went out and started doing it!!! I have never built stuff before, always left it to DH. (Luckily he has tools so I am not starting from scratch). I am making a coop addition to the hoop-house chicken tractor that he made for me this summer. The hoop part is 8' x 8' and half covered with a tarp. The coop part I am building is 4' x 8'. I have almost finished the floor - I debated on making it a hardware cloth floor, since I've heard it's better for the silkie's feet (for showing) - but it also gets down into the teens here in the winter and I would be worried that they would get too cold.

I plan to make two big doors on the back side so I can clean and fill water and food, and a window above. There will be eave vents and also a vent at the peak across from the window, so there will be plenty of ventilation, but not drafts at the floor level. I was debating about making a door where the nest boxes will be but I didn't buy enough hinges. I will cover the windows and vents with hardware cloth, and if it gets really cold I'll get a piece of plexiglass to fit in the window.

DH took a couple pictures of me and the "coop" which I will add to this thread later. It was so funny, we have free-range roosters and they were "helping" me while I worked.