I think chick needs help, head curled backwards

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Alas, Apr 9, 2011.

1. Alas

Alas Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2011
    Covington, LA
    One of my chicks pipped on the wrong end around 5am this morning. He's been chirping and the egg has been moving ever since. He managed to get the tip of his beak through and nothing else. It looked like his beak was upside down and he never managed to shift positions. So I peeled back some of the shell (leaving the membrane intact). It seems his head is curled around backwards in the small end of the egg. I tried peeling back more of the shell so that maybe he'd have the room to turn around, but he is still in the membrane with his head curled backwards, chirping his head off. I'm starting to think I may have to help with the membrane [​IMG] I've never done this before. Any tips or important info?

2. Cattitude

Cattitude Chillin' With My Peeps

May as well do the whole thing all at once. Don't be surprised/startled if there is unabsorbed yolk, as long as it isn't huge. It can be nerve-wracking, trying to decide to help or not. But most of the ones I've helped have made it.

3. white01

white01 Brady Brook Poultry

May 11, 2010
    West Enfield,Maine
    I had this happen and also tried helping, and i should have listened to a lot of knowledgeable people on here and not help, i tried to help 2 of them and even though they hatched they only lived for a day. if they cant make it out on their own maybe that means they wont make it when they get helped out. so now my moto is survival of the fittest and will not help anymore, even though it kills me to see them struggle and not make it. but i got attached to one of them and held him all the time and he still didnt make it, tore my heart out.
    I hope this helps

4. chickee

chickee Chillin' With My Peeps