I think I have 4 Roosters and 2 hens...

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by sjnocill, Jun 19, 2011.

1. sjnocill

sjnocill Out Of The Brooder

Jun 19, 2011
    I got these 6 chicks from a friend about 6 weeks ago, they were 3 weeks old then. Their son hatched them as a school project. I am new to chickens and they are only 9 weeks old, but I think 4 of them are roosters and only 2 hens. Am I right? And if you recognize the breed you can help me out with that as well. Thanks.

[​IMG]
    Looks pretty obvious, a Rooster maybe New Hampshire Red?

[​IMG]
    Don't know what breed but looks like a rooster.

[​IMG]
    Looks like another rooster?

[​IMG]
    Plymouth Barred Rock I think, looks like a rooster and a hen, but they are the same color.

[​IMG]
    A better look at the same hen.

[​IMG]
    A hen! I don't know what kind though, white leghorn?

[​IMG]
    All 6.

Last edited: Jun 20, 2011
  2. sonew123

sonew123 Poultry Snuggie

Mar 16, 2009
    onchiota NY
    I think your right ! Cant really help on breeds except the barred rock looks to be female 5th and 6th photos look to be girls

3. flnatv

flnatv Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2011
    West Tennessee
    Not good at this, but the 1st one looks a "little" like our NH, the 3rd one does look like a roo to me and looks a "lot" like the Columbian Rock Cross birds we got from TSC... Honestly doesn't mean a thing, but oh well.... Do you know where the eggs came from and what breeds they might have had?

Edited: looking at the NH... Don't think so... maybe a production red? Mine doesn't have any white feathers.... ?????

Last edited: Jun 19, 2011
  4. sjnocill

Jun 19, 2011
    They came from a mixed flock. You are probably right on both counts though because the only local supply store to the guy I got them from is a Tractor Supply.