I think I'm drownin my chick?

cookfor4

In the Brooder
11 Years
May 9, 2008
One of the 3 week old chicks was really letharic, and I thought was dehydrated, so I was giving it some water with a teaspoon held up to its beak. It just kept getting worse where the other one was doing so much better. I have been holding it, and noticed that there is a fluid sac under it's neck. When I carefully pressed a little water came out it's mouth! Am I drowning it? How do I fix it? She's still breathing, but very sleepy, and won't get up....

I don't know if you were pressing on her crop, but it's very possible. Is she eating??? That may have something to do with it. Maybe someone knows approximately how much (per drops from a dropper) to give a baby chick, cause they don't drink that much water. Their little beaks can't hold that much. it would be terrible if you were over watering her!!!! Have you tried giving her a few drops of poly-vis-il???

well, Im very new to any of this, Now I do think it was her crop, she isn't eating, all she is doing is sleeping. I've had REALLY bad luck with these chicks. I started out with 17 and I'm down to 12.
sad.png
I feel like giving up! I'm so sad. She is moving and breathing, but very lethargic. I just buried two this morning, I can't handle doing another.
What do I do if I don't have any poly stuff? Where would I get some?

Don't be so hard on yourself, sweetie! Stuff like this happens. I thought I killed mine with grit when they were too young. Sometimes we have a hard learning curve. You're not the only one that has done something that wasn't quite right. You were only trying to help her. I'll get someone with more experience to chime in here.
hugs.gif