1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I think my hen is a Roo?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Julic, Dec 12, 2013.

1. Julic

Julic Out Of The Brooder

Jul 28, 2013
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

This is Speckles, a beautiful Dominique named and given to me by my Grand girls over the summer. I am new to chickens (just a year now) and including Speckles, I only have 3 chickens (getting more in the spring). She was a pullet when they brought her and the people on the side of the road that they bought her from said she was a girl (red flag red flag) [​IMG]
    I have had her since June and she was about 2 months then which makes her about 8 months. She has since out grown the other two hens. Still has not laid an egg. She was VERY submissive at first but recently is getting more aggressive with the dominant hen. Then two days ago she was attacking my RIR which has been her best buddy since the beginning. Non stop trying to peck her eyes out. No matter how hard the RIR ran and coward, she was determined to get those eyes. The RIR Comb a bloody mess and thanks to the Lord that I was out there at the time I grabbed Speckles up and separated her from the other two. She is now quarantined to the small coop. That comb, wattle, and those tail feathers ....hmmm? I am just not experienced enough to know for sure. NO crowing though.
    Please help and let me know what you think. Roo or not. I really never wanted a roo and I cant have her attacking my egg layers.

2. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop
    Cockerel, no doubt.

1 person likes this.
  3. Julic

Julic Out Of The Brooder

Jul 28, 2013
    Thanks. Bummer.

4. keesmom

keesmom Overrun With Chickens

Jul 28, 2008
    MA