I think my rooster is injuring the hens.

chanceosunshine

Songster
Jul 15, 2019
NW Ohio
I have a lone rooster from a bachelor group. He's around two years old. He lost his buddy to a predator so I went and got him some hens. Three hens are 8 months old and the other two are over a year old. I noticed that one younger hen had a huge wound on her side, but that after a couple of days it was looking better. I actually thought that maybe a hawk had grabbed her or something?? Today I looked at her and her side is absolutely awful. I took her from the pen and put her in solitary confinement. I thought maybe I should give her one of her flock mates to keep her company so I went and grabbed another young one. Under her feathers I can see that, she too, is ripped up.
So, it has to be the rooster, right?? He's ripping them up with his spurs when he mounts them, I guess?? I got a picture of one of the hens. It's not the best picture, but you should be able to see what I'm talking about.
What can I do to stop this beside an apron? Can I trim his spurs?
tempImagep3NrSI.png

Attachments

• tempImagelBI2Sh.png
    tempImagelBI2Sh.png
    4.1 MB · Views: 4
Put a saddle/apron on all your hens. That will stop that. It's normal.

You did say something about a huge wound? Like, with blood? If that's the case, I still suggest the saddle, but also, keep a close eye on the rooster. Check how the hens are around him, and check for wounds in other places like the neck.